Jump to content
Soundtrack Board

Empfohlene Beiträge



Caldera Records is proud to present the original score for the television movie Rebecca from 1997, directed by Jim O'Brien and starring Emilia Fox, Charles Dance, Faye Dunaway and Diana Rigg. The movie is based on the famous novel of the same name by Daphne du Maurier which had already been made into a successful movie by Alfred Hitchcock in 1940. It tells the tragic love story between a rich gentleman and his second wife who not only has to cope with an obsessive and evil housekeeper but also with the shadow of the first wife who obviously died under strange circumstances... Christopher Gunning wrote one of his most beautiful and rich scores for this adaption, capturing every aspect of the story in his music. While there is a dark and melancholic main theme, the romance between the (happy) couple is described in a lush melody for the full orchestra which receives its variations throughout the whole score. The tense moments in the movie are accompanied by aggressive outbursts from the orchestra, often featuring prominent, difficult and expressive solos from the cello. Christopher Gunning himself thinks of Rebecca as one of his very best scores and we are glad that you can finally see for yourself that it is indeed – but even more than that: it is one of the most diverse and inspired scores ever written for television. As a bonus, we included an exclusive audio commentary by the composer where he talks about his work. The eleventh CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet-text by Gergely Hubai and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was produced by Stephan Eicke and John Elborg.


1. Opening and Main Title (3:10)
2. Courting (4:03)
3. Mrs. Danver's Obsession (1:52)
4. Manderley (3:50)
5. Falling in Love (2:14)
6. The Proposal (2:36)
7. Max Enjoys His Estate (2:18)
8. The Second Mrs. De Winter Investigates the West Wing (1:55)
9. Conflict (2:31)
10. Mrs. Danvers' Nightmare (3:21)
11. The Second Mrs. De Winters' Turmoil (2:25)
12. Rebecca's Theme (2:18)
13. Mrs. Danvers is Chastised (1:47)
14. Preparations for the Ball (3:01)
15. No One Could Match my Lady for Spirit (4:03)
16. Shipwreck in the Cove (2:06)
17. Max and the Second Mrs. De Winter (1:06)
18. The Anguish of Mrs. Danvers (4:34)
19. A Night of High Drama (3:21)
20. Manderley Destroyed (1:47)
21. Closing Credits (1:46)


Bonus: 22. Audio Commentary by Christopher Gunning (4:47)


Listen to a 5 min clip here:



For more information visit our homepage:






Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Von Caldera auf FSM gepostet, leider nicht hier.


One of our customers kindly dropped us a mail to let us know that there is a 'klick' in cue no. 19. Unfortunately, this is correct. This is not a mistake from the pressing plant but appeared during the transfer from the DAT tapes. No one of us noticed despite a long and careful examination before giving it to the pressing plant. This shouldn't have happened and we can't explain how this could happen. Please accept our sincerest apology.

Unfortunately, as a small independent label we can not afford a new pressing. Instead, we did a re-master of the specific cue and uploaded it on our homepage for customers who bought the CD. This is not an ideal solution but we hope you can understand the problem we are facing. Thanks very much to all of you who bought this CD and support us!


Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Auf dieses Thema antworten...

×   Du hast formatierten Text eingefügt.   Formatierung jetzt entfernen

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Dein Link wurde automatisch eingebettet.   Einbetten rückgängig machen und als Link darstellen

×   Dein vorheriger Inhalt wurde wiederhergestellt.   Clear editor

×   Du kannst Bilder nicht direkt einfügen. Lade Bilder hoch oder lade sie von einer URL.

  • Neu erstellen...

Wichtige Information

Wir nutzen auf unserer Webseite Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Wenn Sie weiter auf unserer Seite surfen, stimmen Sie der Cookie-Verwendung und der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten über Formulare zu. Zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung: Datenschutzerklärung/Impressum