Zum Inhalt springen
Soundtrack Board

Caldera: DIVA DOLOROSA (Loek Dikker)

Empfohlene Beiträge


Caldera Records is proud to present Loek Dikker’s score for the film “Diva Dolorosa.”

Peter Delpeut’s work is a mesmerising found footage collage he assembled in the late 1990s after a flame of passion had been ignited within him: The filmmaker had watched “Rapsodia Satanica,” an expressive and exuberant melodrama with a staggering performance by Lydia Borelli as the leading lady, who had thrown herself into the role of the doomed femme fatale – the “diva.” Previously unaware of the subgenre of the “Diva Film,” Delpeut started to seek out similar works. He quickly found they were like operas. Everything was heightened, and the actresses seemed to dance on every individual frame. Delpeut created “Diva Dolorosa,” for which he assembled individual scenes from “Diva Films.” He put together a new work, a story in the tradition of the Italian classics, for which he needed the appropriate music.

Delpeut entrusted experienced composer Loek Dikker with this Herculean task. The film required a wall-to-wall score, as expressive and lush as an opera. It became his magnum opus, a tribute to the great operas of the late 19th century with subtle jazz influences as they were invoked by, among others, Maurice Ravel and Darius Milhaud in the 1920s. Keen film music enthusiasts might even discover some hints of Nino Rota in the vaudeville music. Dikker’s score has it all – instrumental arias, jazz, vaudeville, and even some polyphony. It is the work the composer is proudest of, and indeed, it stands as a towering achievement in his impressive oeuvre. The 55th CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet text by Stephan Eicke and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was mastered by Richard Moore and produced by Stephan Eicke and John Elborg.


Music Composed by Loek Dikker

Album Produced by Stephan Eicke, Loek Dikker

Executive Producers for Caldera Records: John Elborg, Stephan Eicke

Album Art Direction and Design by Luis Miguel Rojas

1. Prologue (4:48)
2. Love has a Bitter Taste (5:50)
3. The Flame (2:24)
4. Carnival (1:37)
5. Diabolical Delight (5:02)
6. Kiss My Feet (4:58)
7. Betrayal (6:09)
8. Storms of the Soul (5:01)
9. Revenge (6:48)
10. Grief (4:04)
11. Bitter Happiness (4:54)
12. The Isle of the Dead (2:24)
13. The Secret and the Garden of Sorrows (6:39)
14. Our Lady of Pain and Death’s Rhapsody (7:33)
15. Farewell (2:29)

For soundclips and more information, please visit our homepage:


Link zu diesem Kommentar
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Dein Kommentar

Du kannst jetzt schreiben und Dich später registrieren. Wenn Du ein Konto hast, melde Dich jetzt an, um unter Deinem Benutzernamen zu schreiben.

Auf dieses Thema antworten...

×   Du hast formatierten Text eingefügt.   Formatierung jetzt entfernen

  Nur 75 Emojis sind erlaubt.

×   Dein Link wurde automatisch eingebettet.   Einbetten rückgängig machen und als Link darstellen

×   Dein vorheriger Inhalt wurde wiederhergestellt.   Editor leeren

×   Du kannst Bilder nicht direkt einfügen. Lade Bilder hoch oder lade sie von einer URL.


  • Neu erstellen...

Wichtige Information

Wir nutzen auf unserer Webseite Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Wenn Sie weiter auf unserer Seite surfen, stimmen Sie der Cookie-Verwendung und der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten über Formulare zu. Zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung: Datenschutzerklärung