Jump to content
Soundtrack Board
Melde dich an, um diesem Inhalt zu folgen  
Alexander Grodzinski

Quartet Records: KING DAVID (2-CD, Carl Davis)

Empfohlene Beiträge



World premiere release of mammoth score composed by Carl Davis (The French Lieutenant’s Woman, Frankenstein Unbound, Champions) for the 1985 Biblical epic from Paramount Pictures.


Actor Richard Gere gives a bravura performance as the lowly shepherd boy who ascends to the throne of ancient Israel in this compelling, thrilling Biblical saga directed by acclaimed filmmaker Bruce Beresford. This panoramic drama brings David and his legendary Old Testament adventures to life, from his confrontation with Goliath to his self-destructive desire for Bathsheba. Supporting cast includes Edward Woodward as Saul, whose complex relationship with David is the catalyst for strife and conflict that threatens both kingdom and crown in this sweeping, exciting screen epic!


Performed by The London Symphony Orchestra under the baton of the composer, this 2-CD set (for the price of one) contains all the material conceived by Davis for the film, including several alternates (many involving choir). Davis adopted a bold and somewhat austere approach for his score, resulting in haunting, powerful music that is somewhat off the beaten path for Biblical epics. The score features many original source dances and songs as well as dramatic underscore. 


The album has been almost entirely mastered from original stereo masters, vaulted in pristine condition courtesy of Paramount Pictures; four cues (and one source dance) that were rescored by Davis for the film’s final cut have been taken from the mono music stem. Although the master recordings of these cues have been lost, the original versions conceived by the composer are here and in full stereo. Package includes a 16-page full color booklet with liner notes by Frank K. DeWald.






01. Overture (1:41)



02. Rejection of Saul Part. I (1:23)


03. Main Title Revised (2:04)


04. Ritual of the Stones / David and Light (1:32)


05. Rejection of Saul Part. II / Saul, Why Hast Thou Rejected Me? (1:23)


06. Psalm I (The Lord of my Shepherd) (2:33)


07. Massacre of the Philistines (1:26)


08. David and Michal’s Bedroom Scene (1:51)


09. Saul Confronts Michal* (1:26)


10. David’s Farewell to Jonathan (0:42)


11. Ark of the Covenant (1:49)


12. Saul Rides to Nob / I Want These Priests Dead (1:16)


13. David in the Wilderness / Psalm II  (2:52)


14. 8M2* (0:48)


15. Temple of Dagon Revised (0:54)


16. First Exodus / Second Exodus (1:19)


17. Saul Defies Nathan / Philistines Chariot Charge (1:46)


18. How are the Mighty Fallen (Psalm III)* (3:03)


19. David’s Entry Into Jerusalem (2:19)


20. 10M2* (0:45)


21. Bathsheba (1:31)


22. Model of the Temple / More Bathsheba (2:09)


23. Absalom Into Exile (1:32)


24. Uriah’s Wife / Massive Guilt / Model Temple (Thoughts of Absalom) / 


        Is He Your Enemy? (2:56)


25. Joab Chases and Kills Absalom (2:06)


26. Death of Absalom / Destruction of the Temple (2:39)


27. End Title (3:46)


Stereo, except * taken from the mono stem








01. How Are the Mighty Fallen (Psalm III) (Alternate) (3:15)


02. The Priests (1:25)


03. Temple Dance (3:23)


04. David and Michal’s Wedding Procession* (1:19)


05. Bridal Procession (1:25)


06. David’s Entry Into Jerusalem (Alternate A) (3:38)


07. David’s Entry Into Jerusalem (Alternate B) (2:59)


08. 10M2 (Alternate) (1:25)


09. Henna Ritual (2:06)


10. Girl’s Dance No. 1 (1:12)


11. Girl’s Dance No. 2 (2:32)


12. The Lord is my Shepherd (Extended version) (2:54)


13. Main Title (Original version) (2:39)


14. Massacre of the Philistines (Alternate) (1:50)


15. David and Michal’s Bedroom Scene (Harp solo) (2:26)


16. David in the Wilderness (Alternate) (1:23)


17 Temple of Dagon (Alternate) (1:26)


18. First Exodus / Second Exodus (Alternate) (1:25)


19. Bathsheba (Alternate) (0:57)


20. Absalom into Exile (Alternate) (1:32)


21. Joab Chases and Kills Absalom (Alternate) (2:04)


22. Slaughter of the Priests (0:45)


23. Battle Drums* (1:59)


24. Cymbals (Intro)* (0:49)


Stereo, except * taken from the mono stem



Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Auf dieses Thema antworten...

×   Du hast formatierten Text eingefügt.   Formatierung jetzt entfernen

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Dein Link wurde automatisch eingebettet.   Einbetten rückgängig machen und als Link darstellen

×   Dein vorheriger Inhalt wurde wiederhergestellt.   Clear editor

×   Du kannst Bilder nicht direkt einfügen. Lade Bilder hoch oder lade sie von einer URL.

Melde dich an, um diesem Inhalt zu folgen  

  • Neu erstellen...

Wichtige Information

Wir nutzen auf unserer Webseite Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Wenn Sie weiter auf unserer Seite surfen, stimmen Sie der Cookie-Verwendung und der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten über Formulare zu. Zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung: Datenschutzerklärung/Impressum