Jump to content
Soundtrack Board

Empfohlene Beiträge


Caldera Records is proud to present the new score for the motion picture “Sunrise” from 1927, directed by F.W. Murnau, featuring music by Joe Kraemer, commissioned by the Dallas Chamber Symphony.
Featuring enormous stylized sets in order to create an idealized view of the world, “Sunrise” tells the story of three characters with no real names given. The Man and The Wife had been living happily on their farm until the appearance of The Woman From The City, who seduced the husband prior to the beginning of the story. In order to get rid of the farm that is tying The Man to country life, The Woman From The City convinces him to get rid of The Wife by staging a boating accident. When The Man realizes he is unable to commit the deed, The Wife flees to the City. He follows her and they rediscover their love for each other in the exotic world of the City.
In 2016, Joe Kraemer got the chance to prove himself as a masterful composer for silent film when he was commissioned by the Dallas Chamber Orchestra to write an original score for Murnau’s masterpiece. In terms of the overall picture, Kraemer shares his inspirations: “I created themes for each of the major characters and concepts in the film, and then used those themes to carry out the plot of the film. It is a highly programmatic composition. I was influenced by composers like Copland, Gershwin, and Strauss. Additionally, I had just finished a three-week stay in Austria when I began writing the score, and I was very influenced by the culture I experienced in the wonderful town of Baden.”
The score had its world premiere, live-to-picture, in Dallas in October 2016, where it was conducted by Richard McKay. It had a second performance in August 2017 in Baden, Austria, where Kraemer himself conducted it live-to-picture with members of the Synchron Symphony Orchestra. A few weeks after the live performance, the orchestra reconvened at the Synchron Stage in Vienna to record selections from the score for this CD release. The 26th CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet-text by Gergely Hubai, an exclusive audio commentary by the composer, and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was produced by Stephan Eicke and John Elborg.

Music Composed and Conducted by Joe Kraemer
Album Produced by Stephan Eicke
Executive Producers for Caldera Records: John Elborg, Stephan Eicke

1. Sunrise (2:23)
2. The Train Sequence (1:50)
3. The Other Woman (2:15)
4. Whistle (1:52)
5. The Husband Sneaks Away (3:26)
6. The Marsh Sequence and City Song (4:27)
7. Gathering Reeds (2:27)
8. To Bed (2:23)
9. Off to the City (2:16)
10. The Dog Scene (2:47)
11. A Man Posessed (4:34)
12. City Arrival (1:36)
13. Buying Flowers (2:28)
14. The Wedding Scene (3:26)
15. Traffic Jam (2:02)
16. Pictures in a Window (1:19)
17. The Photo Session (2:01)
18. Antics in the Studio (2:41)
19. Night in the City (2:22)
20. Pig on the Loose (3:53)
21. The Dance (2:54)
22. Storm at Seam (4:24)
23. Salvation (4:53)
24. Finale (1:43)

25. Audio Commentary by Joe Kraemer (13:09)

Listen to a 5 min clip here:

For more information please visit:

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen
Am 11.9.2018 um 09:03 schrieb Caldera:

25. Audio Commentary by Joe Kraemer (13:09)

Zahlendreher - auch auf dem CD-Booklet : Das Interview läuft 10:39 :dedektiv:


Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Auf dieses Thema antworten...

×   Du hast formatierten Text eingefügt.   Formatierung jetzt entfernen

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Dein Link wurde automatisch eingebettet.   Einbetten rückgängig machen und als Link darstellen

×   Dein vorheriger Inhalt wurde wiederhergestellt.   Clear editor

×   Du kannst Bilder nicht direkt einfügen. Lade Bilder hoch oder lade sie von einer URL.

  • Neu erstellen...

Wichtige Information

Wir nutzen auf unserer Webseite Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Wenn Sie weiter auf unserer Seite surfen, stimmen Sie der Cookie-Verwendung und der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten über Formulare zu. Zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung: Datenschutzerklärung/Impressum