Jump to content
Soundtrack Board
Melde dich an, um diesem Inhalt zu folgen  

Quartet Records: Fernando Velazquez - THE ORPHANGE

Empfohlene Beiträge


Quartet Records is proud to celebrate the tenth anniversary of J.A. Bayona’s horror cult-classic The Orphanage with a newly recorded, complete edition of the score composed by Fernando Velázquez. The Orphanage was the first collaboration between director and composer, a partnership that has continued in such modern classics as The Impossible and A Monster Calls.

It may seem unusual that a barely ten-year-old score is being re-recorded, but giving The Orphanage a second chance to shine is an undertaking of which Quartet Records is especially proud. This tenth-anniversary edition includes every note Fernando wrote for the film in its original conception to give fans a bold, new take on a modern classic. The original soundtrack album was negotiated and signed off before the recordings were made, and while Fernando wasn’t quite satisfied with the performance, the album had to be released nonetheless. It was a problematic recording, without much possibility of correcting mistakes (do not forget that The Orphanage was a low-budget film). When the possibility of expanding the original 47-minute-long program was being discussed in early 2017, a review of the original multi-track recordings revealed that time hasn’t been kind to Velázquez’s first major score, so a new plan was formulated. The composer took it upon himself to revisit the project by doing a brand-new recording with the Euskadi Symphony Orchestra, the same ensemble he used for A Monster Calls, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies,Submergence and his “Concert Suites” album. By using one of his favorite orchestras and his usual recording engineer, Marc Blanes, whom he couldn’t use on his seminal score, Quartet Records and Fernando Velazquez present the same music he wrote a decade ago (including previously unrecorded alternates), using the know-how and skills he has gained in the past 10 years to bring fans a new recording of which we can all be proud.

This edition includes newly commissioned artwork by PosterSpy & Karl Fitzgerald. The package comes with a 16-page full-color booklet with liner notes by Gergely Hubai discussing the film and score, an essay by Spanish musical authority Luis Ángel de Benito, and statements by Fernando Velázquez and director J.A. Bayona.

01. Prologue (2:30)

02. Opening Titles (1:06)

03. A Magical Light (1:18)

04. The Shadow in the Cave (0:45)

05. Watson & Pepe (1:15)

06. Simon’s File (1:02)

07. My New Friends / A Noise in the Night (1:24)

08. The Shed / Shells on the Door (0:49)

09. The Treasure Game (1:50)

10. Party Day (4:26)

11. The Medal of San Antonio (1:39)

12. Grief Group (1:08)

13. Accident (1:50)

14. Tomás (2:09)

15. “Dos Kilillos” (1:57)

16. Leo Balaban (1:58)

17. A Regression (4:44)

18. Believe, Then You Will See (2:13)

19. Terrible Findings (1:56)

20. Alone in the House (3:21)

21. Wait, I Do Not Want to Hurt You (0:32)

22. Simon’s Little House (4:56)

23. Reunion and Finale (3:53)

24. End Titles (4:34)

25. Reunion and Finale (Alternate) (3:52)

26. Laura and Carlos at the Piano (1:38)

27. Main Theme (Chorus) (2:52)

Total Disc Time: 62:22


ist wirklich sehr schön geworden! Klanglich und auch von der Performance sehr viel besser. Hat halt auch was von nem Konzert, entspricht ja dem Filmscore nicht mehr 1:1 was Timing und Schwerpunkte angeht... Geschmackssache welche CD man dann bevorzugt. Auf jeden Fall kommt hier sehr viel mehr Gefühl rein. Reunion and Finale und End Titles erzeugen echt wieder Gänsehaut. Wundervoll!

Dazu ist der Score ja nun in Filmreihenfolge inkl. unveröffentlicher Cues und auch im Film nicht verwendeter... 

Einer der besten "melancholischer" Gruselscores, den eigentlich jeder haben sollte daheim!

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Link zum Beitrag
Auf anderen Seiten teilen

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Auf dieses Thema antworten...

×   Du hast formatierten Text eingefügt.   Formatierung jetzt entfernen

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Dein Link wurde automatisch eingebettet.   Einbetten rückgängig machen und als Link darstellen

×   Dein vorheriger Inhalt wurde wiederhergestellt.   Clear editor

×   Du kannst Bilder nicht direkt einfügen. Lade Bilder hoch oder lade sie von einer URL.

Melde dich an, um diesem Inhalt zu folgen  

  • Neu erstellen...

Wichtige Information

Wir nutzen auf unserer Webseite Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Wenn Sie weiter auf unserer Seite surfen, stimmen Sie der Cookie-Verwendung und der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten über Formulare zu. Zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung: Datenschutzerklärung/Impressum